CIO of the Year Innovation Award: The first digital clinic


The Innovation Award is awarded to a CIO who has run a particularly inventive project with his IT organization. The jury assesses the business benefits, but also general benefits such as for society and the environment.

Henning Schneider, CIO des Universitätsklinikums Hamburg-Eppendorf, gewann den Innovation Award für die Einführung einer elektronischen Patientenakte und ihre Verbindung mit einem digitalen Medikationssystem.
Henning Schneider, CIO of the University Hospital Hamburg-Eppendorf, won the Innovation Award for the introduction of an electronic patient record and its connection to a digital medication system.
Photo: UKE

This year the choice fell on Henning Schneider, the CIO of the University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE). He introduced the electronic patient file there and at the Altona Children's Hospital and linked it to a digital medication system that makes it almost impossible to receive wrong medication.

"Thus, the UKE positions itself as a leader in the use of smart healthcare, " praised the jury. It is also "the first digital clinic".

  1. Prominent and competent: our jury
    These jurors will be the CIO of the Year in 2019 …
  2. Prof. Dr. Reinhard Jung …
    … holds the Chair of Business Engineering and Director of the Institute of Information Systems at the University of St. Gallen.
  3. Frank Riemensperger …
    … is a member of the board of the Bitkom and chairman of the board of Accenture Germany.
  4. Professor Günther shoe …
    … has been the Chair of Production Systems at the RWTH Aachen since 2002. He is also Director of the FIR Research Institute for Rationalization e. V., Member of the Board of Directors of the Machine Tool Laboratory (WZL) of RWTH Aachen University and the Fraunhofer Institute for Production Technology (IPT).
  5. You want to become "CIO of the year 2019"?
    Then apply until June 26, 2019!
  6. Antje König, CIO of Rossmann, Winners' Club
    … is supporting this year's jury work as a former top prizewinner of the competition 2017 together with …
  7. Dr. Ulrich Reidel, CIO South Leasing / South Factoring, Winners' Club
    … who was one of the top 3 winners of the "CIO of the Year" in the middle class category in 2017.
  8. Joachim Reichel, CIO BSH, member of the presidium of VOICE eV
    Joachim Reichel, Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer of BSH and a member of the Presidium of the IT User Association VOICE eV, is new to the CIO of the Year jury this year
  9. Prof. Dr. Claudia Linnhoff-Popien …
    … is holder of the chair "Mobile and Distributed Systems" at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich (LMU) and this year new to the jury.
  10. Representing the voice of the editorial …
    … are Heinrich Vaske (right), Editorial Director of COMPUTERWOCHE and CIO Magazine, Senior Editorial Project Manager Karen Funk and Horst Ellermann, Editor of the CIO Magazine.

Their judgment is shared internationally: UKE was the first of only three clinics in Europe to achieve the seventh and highest level of the Electronic Medical Record Adoption Model (EMRAM) of the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMMS).

More about the CIO of the year 2015

CIO of 2015: Michael Nilles von Schindler goes all the way up

CIO of the Year 2015 - Category Mittelstand: Free travel in the Port of Hamburg